Skip to content

You have your own personal councillor

There is a councillor for every resident in the borough, and they are available to help you with concerns you may have - from littering and its impact on your environment to plans for new development in your backyard.

The Borough of Boston is divided into wards and each ward is the patch of a councillor; sometimes more than one depending on the area and the density of population - Fishtoft, for example, has three councillors while Boston West has only one.

The names of the wards do not always easily indicate the addresses within that ward - Skirbeck and Station are two. But others are indicative of the areas they cover - such as Kirton and Frampton ward or Old Leake and Wrangle.

The 30 borough councillors cover all the wards in a variety of different political colours but they all have in common the desire to help, inform,  advise and, where necessary and appropriate, act, on behalf of their electorate.

There are limitations, however, to what they can do. Residents can be forgiven for sometimes confusing the responsibilities of the borough council, and so what it can achieve, with the responsibilities of other agencies, such as Lincolnshire County Council and the police.

This is not an exhaustive list but includes the most commonly mistaken area of responsibility:

Number one concerns roads, and especially pot holes - Lincolnshire County Council and not the borough council is the highways authority and has responsibility for the condition of roads and footpaths including pot holes and resurfacing and traffic matters in general.

The borough council has to keep the roads and footpaths clean.

The county council is responsible for street lighting while the borough council is responsible for lighting footpaths.

Next highest on the commonly confused list is waste collection - the borough council collects all waste, but the county council has responsibility for the final disposal of the collected waste - either at its Energy From Waste plant near Lincoln or at the Slippery Gowt tip.

Then there's car parking - the borough council has its own pay and display car parks, but parking on the road is in the charge of the county council. This includes the Market Place, although the borough council controls the markets and the May Fair. There are some private pay and display car parks.

 

Here is a list of all of Boston Borough Council's councillors, their wards, their political allegiances, their special responsibilities and their contact details. If you do not know your councillor or the ward you live in contact electoral services on 012015 314 220/221.

If an address is not given for a councillor you can write to them at Municipal Buildings, West Street, Boston, PE21 8QR

Councillor Alison Austin
St Thomas' ward
Independent
Chairman of Planning Committee
Cherry Tree Cottage,
Low Road,
Wyberton,
PE21 7AP.
01205 368351
alison.austin@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Richard Austin
Wyberton ward
Independent
Vice-Chairman of Corporate and Community Committee
Cherry Tree Cottage,
Low Road,
Wyberton,
PE21 7AP.
01205 368351
richard.austin@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Stephen Ball
Skirbeck ward
UK Independence Party
07425 011339
stephen.ball@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Peter Bedford
Coastal ward (Freiston, Butterwick, Benington, Leverton)
Conservative
Leader of the Council
Lyddon House,
Priory Road,
Freiston,
PE22 OJY.
01205 761957
07957 550350
peter.bedford@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Michael Brookes
Swineshead and Holland Fen (inc Amber Hill)
Conservative
Deputy Leader
Portfolio holder for waste services
18 Bullens Lane,
Swineshead,
PE20 3JQ.
01205 820616
michael.brookes@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Colin Brotherton
Kirton and Frampton
Conservative
Chairman of Licensing/Regulatory and Appeals Committee and Vice-Chairman of Planning Committee
72 Station Road,
Kirton,
PE20 1LQ.
01205 724394
colin.brotherton@boston.gov.uk

Councillor David Brown
Wyberton
UK Independence Party
Northorpe House,
Wigtoft Road,
Sutterton,
PE20 2EE.
01205 461460
david.brown@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Michael Cooper
Five Villages (Wigtoft, Sutterton, Bicker, Algarkirk, Fosdyke)
Conservative
Portfolio Holder for Housing, Property and Community
Clover Farm,
Main Road,
Langrick,
PE22 7AW.
01205 280037
07774 860020
michael.cooper@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Anton Dani
Fenside
UK Independence Party
07979 189293
anton.dani@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Maureen Dennis
Old Leake and Wrangle
Conservative
Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chairman of Licensing / Regulatory and Appeals Committee
The Old School House,
35 School Lane,
Old Leake.
PE22 9NJ
01205 870887
maureen.dennis@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Viven Edge
Witham
UK Independence Party
07882 886973
viven.edge@boston.gov.uk

Councillor James Edwards
Kirton and Frampton
UK Independence Party
01205 314511
james.edwards@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Ben Evans
Staniland
Conservative
01205 205123
ben.evans@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Paul Gleeson
Skirbeck
Labour
Chairman of Corporate and Community Committee
3 Church Road,
Boston,
PE21 0LW.
01205 350503
07702 012445
paul.gleeson@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Dr Gordon Gregory
Trinity
Conservative
Chairman of Audit and Governance Committee
01205 314511
gordon.gregory@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Martin Griggs
Skirbeck
Conservative
6 The Courtyard,
Boston,
PE21 0AZ.
01205 351343
martin.griggs@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Jonathan Noble
Fishtoft
UK Independence Party
The Old Farmhouse,
Northlands,
Sibsey,
PE22 0UA
01205 750657
jonathan.noble@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Barrie Pierpoint
Old Leake and Wrangle
Unaligned
07720 406806
barrie.pierpoint@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Elizabeth Ransome
Swineshead and Holland Fen (inc Amber Hill)
UK Independence Party
67 Clarke Court,
Wyberton.
PE21 7EF
01205 311373
elizabeth.ransome@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Felicity Ransome
Coastal (Freiston, Butterwick, Benington, Leverton)
UK Independence Party
01205 311373
felicity.ransome@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Sue Ransome
Station
UK Independence Party
67 Clarke Court,
Wyberton,
PE21 7EF.
01205 311373
sue.ransome@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Stephen Raven
Witham
UK Independence Party
07804 535574
stephen.raven@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Brian Rush
Staniland
UK Independence Party
01205 290488
brian.rush@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Claire Rylott
Kirton and Frampton
Conservative
Portfolio Holder for Grounds and Open Spaces
Sunnyside Farm,
Holme Road,
Kirton Holme,
PE20 1TB.
01205 290386
07534 433218
claire.rylott@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Judith Skinner
Fishtoft
Conservative
Chairman of Environment and Performance Committee and Vice-Chairman of Audit and Governance Committee
Walnut Cottage,
Scalp Road,
Fishtoft,
PE21 0SQ.
01205 353754
07986 993489
judith.skinner@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Paul Skinner
Fishtoft
Conservative
Portfolio Holder for Town Centre
Walnut Cottage,
Scalp Road,
Fishtoft,
PE21 0SQ.
01205 353754
07941 604177
paul.skinner@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Aaron Spencer
Five Villages (Wigtoft, Sutterton, Bicker, Algarkirk, Fosdyke)
Conservative
Portfolio Holder for Finance
Meridian Lodge,
Main Road,
Algarkirk,
PE20 2BE.
01205 460394
07415 204344
aaron.spencer@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Yvonne Stevens
Trinity
UK Independence Party
07946 588160
yvonne.stevens@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Nigel Welton
Fenside
Labour
Vice-Chairman of Environment and Performance Committee
07539 067599
nigel.welton@boston.gov.uk

Councillor Stephen Woodliffe
West
Conservative
The Worshipful the Mayor of Boston
44 Chester Way,
Boston,
PE21 7PR.
07876 086570
stephen.woodliffe@boston.gov.uk