Skip to content

Youth councillors elected by their peers

Boston's newest "councillors" have been elected after passionate campaigning.

The four were elected by their peers at Boston High School and will eventually join eight others to form the first Boston Youth Council. Nine candidates campaigned over two weeks, delivering passionate and enthusiastic speeches in front of pupils, teachers and school governors.

They now hold office for one year.  During this year they will have the opportunity to participate in debate and take action on issues which affect young people.  They will hold offices of responsibility which will eventually lead to developing strong working relationships with elected members.

Maddy Eyre, Boston Borough Council's local communities' development officer explained to the four candidates that they were now their electorate champions. She also explained that they will work with Boston Borough Council and will also have the right to campaign.

New youth councillor Damian Bemben, year 11, said: "I will try to get everyone's views and pick the ones that have the most suitability for the youth council. I would take suitable ideas and make them work as much as possible."

Marcus Gibbons, year 13, said: "I spoke about being responsible and mature and, as one of the older students, I can help guide the other youth councillors as well as working on my own campaigns."

Amy Pearson, year 10, wants to help improve work for young people and make sure work experience for pupils is maintained.

Aerisha Waheed, year 7, said: "I can take their views and not just talk about them but action them. I also think I can improve Boston with help from others."

The successful candidates were interviewed by Boston High School's journalist, Swatee Odedra for an article on the school's website.

They will meet early in the New Year with the other four members already in the youth council and the four students still to be elected from another local secondary school to share their ideas before their first AGM on Thursday, January 23, 2014 where a chairman, treasurer and secretary will also be elected.

Youth Council - Boston High School Displays a larger version of this image in a new browser window

Four successful candidates, Amy Pearson, Marcus Gibbons, Damian Bemben and Aerisha Waheed